top of page
  • Yrma

Blue Rain Studio Newsletter nr 7


I hope everybody is enjoying summer as much as I am. We’ve already had temperatures of 105 F / 42 C.

But easy for me to say, I work inside. Although I have cursed the acrylic paints that dry way too fast in this dry desert environment and had to turn on the humidifier to make it a little more palatable I managed to finish the painting for my June art show and am now working in oils again.

“I Can See What You Can’t See” acrylics on canvas 20 x 16”

Art Shows

It all started again in May with the Moab Arts Festival. For me a fun local experience where I see a lot of my friends and one little fan, as she called herself! This young girl came by about 6 times that weekend, taking it all in while dreaming of a career as an artist herself.

The advice I always give: “Keep practicing and don’t give up. It can be hard sometimes, but just paint from the heart!”

My second art show was in San Diego at the San Diego Festival of the Arts.

Feeling honored that I was accepted I embraced it all; the family visits and having friends from San Diego visit my booth as well.

I will do one show a month this year and started in May, but will have November off. Next one up is a 3-day show in July in Ruidoso, New Mexico.

Latest Work

After the painting “Wolf Connection” I painted a second wolf in oils. And what’s a wolf without a full moon. Here’s “Blue Moon” plus I’m showing the first one as well:

I did paint more ravens. These are painted with acrylic inks on watercolor paper.

Here’s one of them, “What Happens In Venice Stays In Venice”:

The title is inspired by a TV commercial; just don’t ask me what product they tried to sell. All I remember is the slogan “What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas”.

Was this a good commercial? Don’t think so, but that’s a different kind of discussion.

I am intrigued by Venetian Masks and their history. They are so beautiful that I wanted to use them in my work.

Needless to say, that a lot can be hidden behind a mask.

I owe it to you to show that insect I was sketching this winter. It was a Praying Mantis, ‘bidsprinkhaan’ in Dutch.

It resulted in 2 paintings. One in oils and one in acrylic inks:

“Protected Mantis” oils on canvas 12 x 12” and “Radetzschi Marsch” acrylics on watercolor paper 16 x 12”

Art Note Cards

I have been printing note cards of my work for a couple of years now. People keep asking me if they can buy them online. I finally got to finish and publish my Etsy shop where I have 4 sets of my note cards available. More will follow. You can get there through my website as well. I will give you the links below.

I have sets of 5, 8 and 10. The sets of 8 and 10 are nicely packed in a box and great as gift!

They all come with white envelopes and are blank inside.

Links to shop: Etsy

There is always more to show and tell, but I will save that for next time. You can always look online for images of other work.

Stay creative any way you can!

Yrma

25 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page