top of page
  • Foto van schrijverYrma van der Steenstraeten

COVID year of 2020

No 12 – July 2020

First of all, I hope you all are well in this COVID year of 2020.

I realize my last newsletter was from August 2019, almost a year ago. That’s too long, my apologies. But then, no shows have happened except the Castle Valley Gourd Festival in October 2019. A little side kick for me, working with gourds, but fun as you might have seen in that last newsletter. Here some more of my gourds:




2020 started for me with an inspirational trip to Arizona in January with visits to beautiful museums and gardens. The Tucson Botanic garden, the outdoor Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum with native plants and animals and their Ironwood Gallery where I visited the opening of the 2019 exhibit of Artists For Conservation, and the Amerind museum in Dragoon, a wonderful Native American art museum.

If you ever have the chance to visit either of these, I’d say GO!

Camping in the wonderful Sonoran Desert with all the cacti and native creatures is a very nice distraction from the cold and snow in Utah.

The biggest inspiration was the view of thousands of Sandhill Cranes in the south of Arizona, something I wanted to experience for years.

It was magical to see all these cranes on the other side of the lake. I took tons of pictures and started a painting in March, but have not finished it yet.

COVID is not a very inspirational time for me. In a period where I thought I’d paint a lot, I ended up doing projects that were long due. I still need to finish that first painting I started.


Work in Progress


As I said, it’s not finished yet, here images of the process of painting Flight Of The Cranes:


Raven

At the time of the last newsletter I was working on a small 8” x 8” Steampunk Raven inspired by the three-eyed raven from Game of Thrones.

I also did a commission, a Steampunk monkey called: Monkey See, Monkey Do.


Stay healthy and creative anyway you can!

Yrma

3 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page