top of page
  • Yrma

Holiday Newsletter

Happy Holidays!

I’ve had mostly successful shows, and the less successful ones – due to the high costs that came with it or the insufficient amount of publicity and thus lack of visitors - I will not participate in in the future. One learns…

My closeness to nature, living in a rural area and my overall interest in the well being of all creatures in it help me to develop my skills and to portray the animals and their characters.

Oils

I am working more and more with oil paint and I love this medium! I prefer to paint wet-on-wet, where you don’t wait for a layer to dry, but paint over it, while mixing the layers and colors on the canvas. Sometimes though, I do have to wait for a layer to dry. That’s why I work on more than one painting at the time. While one dries, I work on the other.

My latest bird painting in oils is this juvenile Snowy Owl portrait:

This owl’s feathers will be mostly white once it is an adult. Their eyes, a golden color, are rather small for an owl. Their feet are thickly covered with feathers. They are one of the largest species among North American owls.

Interesting fact: Unlike other owl species they hunt mainly during the day.

This owl is also known as the Arctic owl or the Great White owl.

A workshop by well established artists here and there is a helpful source and fun to do.

I miss art school sometimes and the challenges that came with the assignments. So, I give myself assignments through educational DVD’s, art books and downloaded workshops.

My latest was a dog eye painting class in which I painted a Black Lab’s eye. It looks like my own dog’s eye. She must have a black lab in her mix, because that’s what she is, a mix. I call her the ‘Baja Beach Dog’. That’s where she found me and my husband and she was so adorable we could not resist her. She came home with us seven years ago.

Here all 3 results of my eye panting classes so far: Hawk, Bald Eagle and Black Labrador:

It is my intention to make a painting of my dog, but that will happen later.

I just finished a Gray Wolf portrait. Here’s the making of “Wolf Connection”:

I will still be painting more ravens and other birds. I have a lot of ideas that I will not get into now, but it does involve some Steampunk and of course humor! I even have started sketching a certain insect!

Curious? Wait and see!

For now I wish you happy holidays and for 2017 lots of love and good health!

Stay creative any way you can!

11 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page