top of page
  • Yrma

Blue Rain Studio Newsletter #5

StartFragment

Ravens and Eagles,

Like I mentioned in my last newsletter #4, my involvement with Debbie Pappas and her organization Second Chance Wildlife Rehabilitation in Price, Utah gave me the chance to see the big birds up-close, even hold and release a beauty of a Golden Eagle.

The work in progress I showed of ravens playing in the sky is finished.

“Dance into Eternity” – 12” x 12” (30.5 x 30.5 cm) SOLD

As well as this one, the big oil painting that I decided to call

“Time Was” - Oils on canvas - 30” x 40” (76 x 101 cm).

Bald Eagle

I love how majestic these birds look. I learned a lot from Debbie Pappas about the difference between the Bald and the Golden Eagle and was surprised to hear that the Golden Eagle is stronger than the Bald. Bald Eagles are larger than Golden Eagles in average height and wingspan, but there isn't much difference in average weight.

Debbie would never put the two in the same cage if she would have them at her center. The Golden would kill the Bald. According to her, the Golden is so used to hunt live prey, that it has so much more experience killing its prey as well as the strength needed for it. The Bald is a scavenger and lives mostly of dead animals, road kill.

I still love the appearance of the Bald though, can’t take that away from the bird.

“Haliaeetus”, acrylics on watercolor paper – 9.5” x 12.5” (24 x 32 cm)

StartFragment

Another bird I started to paint is the owl. The eyes are definitely a focal point. Although I do find that the body of the bird looks pretty stiff, they are incredible flyers and their heads can turn 270 degrees in either direction.

No surprise maybe that I focus, for now, mostly on the eyes:

“Deep Soul” – acrylics on watercolor paper - 9.5” x 12.5” (24 x 32 cm)

A work in progress is a trio of Barn Owls on a branch painted on 3 canvasses:

Hummingbirds

Having hummingbirds around the house, I cannot escape their sweetness, but also not their aggressive behavior towards one another when it comes to food.

One of my favorites is this hummingbird duel in which I cooperated some Steampunk as well as Zentangle design:

“Sky Wars” – acrylics on watercolor paper – 15.5” x 11.5” (39,5 x 29 cm)

EndFragment

EndFragment

8 weergaven0 opmerkingen

Recente blogposts

Alles weergeven
bottom of page